Mausoleum of Pakhlavan Makhmud – architectural complex in Khiva, one of the best works of Khiva’s architects of the middle of XIX century, made in Khorezmian traditions of art of building before the Timur period.
LEGEND OF PAHLAVAN MAKHMUD
Pahlavan Mahmood was local poet and craftsmen. He was also famous with herculean strength, like invincible wrestler and with ability for healing people. His tomb was in the cemetery right after the Juma Mosque. Local oral sayings have many descriptions and details and life and great deeds of Pahlavan Mahmood. From ancient times people respect him as a pir, which means holy patron of the city.
HISTORY OF PAKHLAVAN MAKHMUD
At first Mausoleum of Pakhlavan Makhmud was very modest, but as soon as this place becomes popular among pilgrims, mosque and khanako were erected, where pilgrims could pray and stay with other living facilities.
Step by step Mausoleum of Pakhlavan Makhmud become into magnificent construction with the biggest cupola in Khiva, covered with blue glazed tile with glittered gilded top.
During ruling period of Allah Kuli Khan, building was decorated with majolica surfacing.
In 1810 construction was managed by Master Adina Muhammad Murad from Khazorasp. Majolica surfacing is dated with 1825, the same period when it was build another part of gallery by Nur Mukhammad, son of Usto Kalandar Khivaki and Sufi Mukhammad, son of Abdal Jabbar. Author of paintings was Abdulla Djin, and Nadir Mukhammad did the carving of wood doors in 1893-1894. Construction of wonderful architectural complex finished with building ayvan with wood carved columns in south-east part of the yard.
ARCHITECTURAL COMPLEX OF PAKHLAVAN MAKHMUD
In XVII century, the entrance into mausoleum was build in south part.
In 1719, Sherazi Khan while building medresse to the south from cemetery, oriented it to the mausoleum of Pahlavan Mahmood.
In 1810, after successful trip to Kongirot, Mukhammad Rahim Khan I decided to completely change the complex of Pakhlavan Makhmud. Later construction extended to east and partly to south from original mausoleum.
In adjusted to mausoleum family cemetery start buying members of Khan’s family.
Marble gravestones of Abdulaziz Khan (1663) and Anush Khan (1681) were removed into new building and were settled after burial niche of Mukhammad Rahim Khan.
In 1913 in the area opposite to mausoleum, was constructed 2 store building. Burial places for mother and sons of Isfandiyar Khan, and also for Isfandiyar Khan himself located in the rooms of this building.
According to accepted theory, Infandiyar died out of Ichan Kala, in Nurullabay palace and wasn’t buried in prepared for him place.
His son, who was poisoned, also wasn’t buried here but in mausoleum of Said Mahiriy Jahan, next to grandfather.